This website uses Cookies.

Please explore the following links to find the wealth of literary, artistic and other influences that we have drawn upon; to meet our stakeholders and partners; and to see other projects that we think you will find interesting:

The Book: Shaw, Donald.  The Balerno Branch and the Caley in Edinburgh.  Published by Oakwood, 1989.  ISBN 10: 0853613664 ISBN 13: 9780853613664.  Available to borrow from local libraries and to purchase via booksellers.  This is the definitive history of the line, with some illustrations by our local Archie Clark.

Railway History

Wikipedia data:  https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Balerno_line

A history of the railway's links with Juniper Green:  http://www.junipergreencc.org.uk/jg300-1/railway.html

Scottish Railway Preservation Society's working Balerno Pug: http://www.srpsmuseum.org.uk/10006.htm

A spur from the Balerno Branch Line railway that delivered stone to build Redford Barracks and which first brought trams to Colinton:  http://www.edinburghtrams.info/colinton_tramway_company

Railscot: https://www.railscot.co.uk/Balerno_Loop/index.php

Edinphoto:  http://www.edinphoto.org.uk/0_edin_t/0_edinburgh_transport_-_railways_south-west_ed.htm

John Speller's pages:  http://spellerweb.net/rhindex/UKRH/Caledonian/Balerno.html

Rolling stock:  www.caleycoaches.co.uk/assets/pdfs/balernoPn.pdf

Caledonian Railway Association Forum:  http://www.crassoc.org.uk/forum/viewtopic.php?f=6&t=109

Model of Colinton Station:  http://www.waterofleith.org.uk/blog/2015/3/23/balerno-branch-railway-weekend-was-a-huge-hit-with-visitors.html

Colinton Tunnel:  http://www.forgottenrelics.co.uk/tunnels/gallery/colinton.html

Caledonian Railway history: https://ipfs.io/ipfs/QmXoypizjW3WknFiJnKLwHCnL72vedxjQkDDP1mXWo6uco/wiki/Caledonian_Railway_lines_to_Edinburgh.html

Paper-making and the railway:  https://archiveshub.jisc.ac.uk/features/feb08.shtml

Project Summary

http://btckstorage.blob.core.windows.net/site918/News/Colinton%20Railway%20Tunnel.pdf

Local Organisations

The Water of Leith Conservation Trust:  http://www.waterofleith.org.uk/

Colinton Community Conservation Trust:  http://www.colinton-conservation.org.uk/

Colinton Amenity Association: http://www.colinton-amenity.org.uk/

Colinton Parish Church:  http://www.colinton-parish.com/

Colinton Local History Society:  http://www.colintonhistory.org.uk/

Edinburgh & Lothians Greenspace Trust:  http://www.elgt.org.uk/

SUSTRANS: https://www.sustrans.org.uk/ncn/map/walking-and-cycling-routes/urban-adventures/edinburgh-loops-and-links

ASD Lighting Case study of tunnel lighting improvements (commissioned by City of Edinburgh Council): https://asdlighting.com/case-studies/colinton-tunnel-edinburgh/

 

Community Councils

Colinton: http://www.colinton-parish.com/

Juniper Green:  http://www.junipergreencc.org.uk/

Craiglockhart:  http://www.craiglockhart.btik.com/

Artistic and literary links

Great pictures of the railway, its destinations along the Water of Leith and the Pentland Hills: http://edwinglucas.com/water-of-leith-and-pentland-hills.html

See also: http://www.junipergreencc.org.uk/jg300-1/lucas.html

Robert Louis Stevenson:  http://robert-louis-stevenson.org/

A walk with Robert Louis Stevenson: http://www.colinton-conservation.org.uk/rlswalk-1.htm

Professor Linda Dryden: https://www.napier.ac.uk/people/linda-dryden

RLS Poem "From a Railway Carriage": http://www.scottishpoetrylibrary.org.uk/poetry/poems/railway-carriage

Wilfred Owen and the War poets: http://www.wilfredowen.org.uk/home/

Wilfred Owen Centenary: http://www.napier.ac.uk/about-us/our-location/our-campuses/special-collections/outreach-and-events/wilfred-owens-edinburgh

Wilfred Owen Centenary events:  http://napier.ac.uk/wilfred-owen-100

War Poets' meeting at Baberton Golf Club:  http://www.forces.net/radio/great-war-poets-edinburgh-meeting-remembered

Phoebe Anna Traquair:  https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Phoebe_Anna_Traquair

Other tunnel Murals:  http://www.sandsfootcastle.org.uk/wyke-road-tunnel-mural-2/ 

Local history

Walks around Colinton and the Mills in Colinton:  http://colintonhistory.org.uk/publications.html

The Mills in Juniper Green: http://www.junipergreencc.org.uk/jg300-1/mills2.html

Currie & District Local History Society: http://rob739.wixsite.com/cdlh

Extended benefits

Murals as anti-graffiti measures: 

http://rethinkurban.com/2012/creative-change/murals-pride-and-history-help-prevent-graffiti/

https://www.informedesign.org/Rs_detail/rsId/2474

https://www.graffitieaters.com.au/graffiti-prevention-strategies-actually-work/

http://www.britsoccrim.org/volume9/4.Taylor09.pdf

https://www.crimeprevention.vic.gov.au/grants/graffiti-prevention-grants/delivering-a-public-art-or-mural-project

Economic and social benefits - exemplars in North America:

https://www.art-bc.com/places/chemainus/walking-tours/murals-of-chemainus/

http://www.explorevancouverisland.com/Chemainus_Vancouver_Island_BC_Canada.htm

http://www.visitphilly.com/music-art/philadelphia/mural-arts-philadelphia/

https://www.muralarts.org/about/

http://www.ccmurals.org/mural-benefits/

http://opticosdesign.com/the-power-of-public-art-murals/

 

small blueWe are a Scottish Charity, SC048476, regulated by the Scottish Charity Regulator (OSCR) 

 facebook icon  twitter icon